Boulez Conducts a 20th Century Collage


Pierre Boulez harnesses the power and precision of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra in a concert performance of music that offers a wide range of 20th Century compositional voice.

The concert begins with Maurice Ravel's tribute to an earlier time and to friends lost during World War I, Le Tombeau de Couperin.

Next, Boulez and the CSO are joined by pianists Pierre-Laurent Aimard and Tamara Stefanovich for Hungarian composer Béla Bartók's Concerto for Two Pianos, Percussion and Orchestra.

The Principal Flutist of the CSO, Mathieu Dufour (left), takes center stage for the next piece, the Flute Concerto written by 50-year-old French composer Marc-André Dalbavie in 2006.

Rounding out the program is Igor Stravinsky's revolutionary take on a Russian folk tale, The Firebird.


Comment on This Article

WCRB Programs

Boston Symphony Orchestra
Keith's Classical Corner

The Bach Hour
Classical Performance Podcast

More programs

Follow WCRB

WCRB Notes


WGBH iPhone App

Tune in to WCRB 99.5 anytime, anywhere, with your iPhone.

Download the app from iTunes

Event: 995: Conrad Tao
Downtown Abbey Season 5 adlob
Cartoon Fest 2014 Adlob